Oriental Otters, Beales fashion show, Battistinis big bikes; it’s all happening in the ‘man up’ month of May

May is one of my favourite months; the prospect of summer, the first flush of warm weather (boy, we have been spoilt already) and the social diary becomes even busier than usual. This year has felt particularly crazy with all the bank holidays thrown into the mix – you can see business people all over the place not sure whether they’re coming or going!

I was extremely lucky to have picked a deliciously hot and sunny week to enjoy some of my old haunts in the motherland (Cornwall) that included a trip to Zennor with our smelly old surf dog, Zennor (as mentioned in a previous column). Not doing anything to support my fitness drive at all, we ate far too many cream teas and pasties. Scrummy.

It’s good to know that the European Commission is now developing guidelines to protect the official recipe that makes a proper ‘Cornish Pasty‘ – nothing annoys me more than finding a rogue carrot or pea in my pasty! It does make me laugh though that the Cornish call a ‘turnip’ a ‘swede’ (they’re really quite different vegetables) making the guidelines really tricky for the EC. The upshot is that turnip can be listed in a pasty’s ingredients, yet it mustn’t contain any – it has to be swede! Simply bonkers……and I love it.

Back at base, there are lots of lovely projects coming to a head that we at Liz Lean PR are working on, and they’re all very different, which keeps our lives more than interesting!

Tony Brown, CEO of Beales with the models of the Beales Girls Night Out

First off, for fashionistas – Beales Bournemouth is about to host its third Spring Summer Girls Night Out fashion show in the store on 12th May. We love the buzz of this twice-yearly event; the reaction to the male models, the flowing fizz and the great discounts throughout the store. Heading to the Mac counter for a quick makeover starts the whole night off nicely.

Oriental small clawed otters at the Oceanarium Bournemouth

For animal lovers – a pair of Oriental small clawed otters are now basking in their waterside penthouse at the Oceanarium Bournemouth. From Saturday May 28 throughout the half-term holidays you can get involved with some otter themed entertainment, activities, talks and competitions. The otters are really cute and funny to watch – they juggle with rocks and pebbles and talk to each other in their own language of calls and noises; it’s been a real dream project.

In stark contrast, and for those who like big boys’ toys, the very first custom bike show comes to the BIC on 28th and 29th May from 10am to 6pm. The Battistinis California Dreamin’ Expo is likely to make some noise as it comes to town – several ‘chapters’ of Harley-Davidson and custom bike owners from all over the UK are heading to Bournemouth over the Bank Holiday weekend, over one thousand motorcycles are expected to rock up! Imagine the roar? It’s going to turn heads that’s for sure. We’re most looking forward to seeing Evel Knievel’s original stunt bikes and memorabilia, their first appearance at a UK bike show.

The inaugural Battistinis California Dreamin' Expo roars into town on 28 and 29 May 2011

The inaugural Battistinis California Dreamin' Expo roars into town on 28 and 29 May 2011

For me personally I’m not sure I’m a Harley type girl, I’ve never owned a bike but if I did, I think the closest I’d get is a nice vintage Vespa! I can’t really see it happening though……..flying to meetings on a scooter with laptop strapped to my back? Mmmm……..maybe not, I’d be a liability. I think I’ll stick to the Beetle!

For my usual ‘blatant plug of the month’, I need to give credit to one of Wave 105’s presenters, Simon Clarke, for his ‘man up’ month of fundraising in aid of the Teenage Cancer Trust (I bet he’d ride a Harley). He has got to undertake a whole series of manly (and scary) sponsored challenges to help the stations’ dedicated Cash for Kids Teenage Cancer Trust campaign throughout May. You can even bid for someone to join Simon in the challenges. Wave 105 hopes to achieve enough funds to create a dedicated teenage cancer patient room at Southampton General Hospital whilst raising awareness of cancer in young people in the south. This is such an important cause so do go online and sponsor Simon at http://www.wave105.com/charity/cashforkids-teenage-cancer-trust

Well I hope your journey into June is a smooth and sunny one. The longest days will soon be upon us……….some time to catch up on business hours lost in the sea of bank holidays. Bah humbug!

Bests,

Liz

Leave a comment